Blue Lagoon - Abereiddy Bay
The blue lagoon is an old quarry, just north of the beach in Abereiddy Bay, that was abandoned and flooded in 1910, as the rock that separated it from the sea was demolished, allowing the waves to flow in.
Today the blue lagoon is a popular spot for rock climbers and for clubs which jump from the rocks into this cold, deep, water, with its distinctive deep blue hue. Even for those not wanting to take part it can be fascinating to watch. The lagoon and surrounding coastline are also used by coasteering and kayaking groups.
The ruins of former buildings of the quarry, including the row of workmen’s houses still scatter the surrounding area. The area is popular for walkers, with the Pembrokeshire coastal path passing the lagoon, and some stunning cliff-top walks nearby.
A large car park can be found behind Abereiddy Bay beach, and the quarry is a short walk to the north. An ice cream van can usually be found next to the car park during the summer months. The beach has public toilets, but due to its remote location, there are no other facilities at the beach itself, although there are places to stay in the hamlets and villages nearby.
Type of beach
Sand & pebble
Dogs friendly beach?
OS grid ref.
SM 7953 3148
Submit a correction