2024 Beach Awards (Scotland) beaches

Last updated:

There are 48 Beach Awards (Scotland) in the British Isles (UK & Ireland) all of which have met the stringent criteria to qualify

Beach Awards (Scotland)

To gain a beach Award, beaches must meet standards across six pillars of the Beach Award. These are: information provision, water quality information, beach safety, beach management, access and facilities, and cleanliness.

There a total of 30 individual criteria points, categorised as ‘major’, ‘minor’ or ‘best practice’. To gain and maintain a Beach Award, beaches must:

  • Fulfil the requirements of all Major criteria
  • Have no more than three counts of non-compliance to minor criteria
  • Demonstrate ongoing commitment to improving best practice

For more information visit the Keep Scotland Beautiful Beach Awards website